Aeolian Islands

In the daylight and at night, the seven multicoloured sister islands Filicudi, Alicudi, Panarea, Salina, Lipari, Vulcano and Stromboli look different from one another, but the beauty of their landscape attracts many visitors.
Aeolus, God of the winds, took up his residence here.
The islands belong to a single volcanic complex: the black beaches of Stromboli change into the white ones of Lipari. Lipari and Vulcano are plenty of eruptive materials like pumice stones, fragments of lava, etc. They originated from submarine lava flows. It is amazing to look at the morphological configuration of the seabed of the Aeolian archipelago: several are the volcanoes alternated with canyons. In the sea, the warm streams show an intense eruptive activity.
Alicudi, Filicudi and Salina are dormant, while Lipari amd Panarea show fumaroles and thermal sources. Stromboli and Vulcano are instead still active.